DIY Easy Autumn Wreath

Hi, my name is Ashley and I’m addicted to making seasonal wreaths. And I’m also in loveeee with my favorite season, autumn!

[ Okay, maybe obsessed. Hubs is a little worried of my pumpkin and spice consumption. And the pull out “50 Things to Make with Canned Pumpkin” from October 2013’s Food Network Magazine isn’t helping! ]

This DIY Autumn Wreath is very simple. No glue, tape or pins required. All you need are a few bunches of flowers, a grapevine wreath and a pair of scissors. A little bit of patience and creative vision also go a long way (I must have rearranged these flowers about 100 times!).

DIY Easy Autumn Wreath

I’ve never been a huge fan of the color orange, but something just drew me to these. They’re not too Halloween-y, where I’d have to switch them out Nov. 1. They’re just perfect to sweep me through Thanksgiving weekend.

DIY Easy Autumn Wreath

Up close you can see the texture a little bit better, with hints of yellow sticking out in the center.

DIY Easy Autumn Wreath

Making this wreath is so easy. Just lay out your grapevine wreath, then pile your snipped flowers and plucked leaves in piles around it (see step-by-step instructions below). It’s at this moment, while looking down at your wreath, that your creative side of your brain *may* go blank.

Don’t panic. Just start arranging the flowers or copy my design (it is really pretty, if-I-do-say-so-myself, hehe!).

DIY Easy Autumn Wreath

Most of the stems with twist off the flowers. To do this, cut the stem until you reach the wire. Then fold the stem and twist it until it breaks. If that doesn’t work for your flowers, wire cutters are a sure bet.

DIY Easy Autumn Wreath

In the photo above, you see my beginning stages of laying out the design. Have fun with it! Make it a project with friends – a trip to a craft store, followed by an afternoon of drinks or hot beverages. It’s also a great craft for Sunday afternoons if you don’t want to watch 11 hours of football.

If you want to make a more simple wreath, check out my $10 DIY Autumn Wreath. Or, check out DIY Chelsea’s Fall Flowers Wreath for a different design using a Styrofoam wreath.

DIY Easy Autumn Wreath

DIY Easy Autumn Wreath

Supplies

  • 1 grapevine wreath
  • 2 bunches of bright colored large flowers (pictured: orangey ones)
  • 4 bunches of light colored small flowers (pictured: cream ones)
  • Scissors or wire cutters

Directions

  1. First pluck the leaves off of the flowers (should come off easily), set aside in a pile.
  2. Using your scissors or wire cutters, snip the flowers off the stems, leaving about 3 inches on the end.
  3. Arrange the flowers around the wreath in your desired pattern (feel free to copy my design!).
  4. Once you know where you want the flowers, take your first flower, bend the stem and weave into the grapevines.
  5. Repeat for all the flowers.
  6. Finally, fill in the extra space with the reserved leaves. It helps if you hold up the wreath every so often to gauge the “fullness” is to your liking.

2 responses to “DIY Easy Autumn Wreath

Leave a comment