Cheesy Spinach & Artichoke Dip

There’s nothing better than a cheesy, warm dip at a party (hello, Super Bowl!). I’ve been making this one for years, adapting and tweaking it ever so slightly. For instance, I don’t mind a chunky dip – scooping up big pieces of artichoke hearts doesn’t bother me one bit. I also don’t mind a little bit of heat, cue the red pepper flakes. Or tons of garlic. So, if you like all of the same things I like then you’ll LOVE this recipe.

When a recipe calls for, say, 2 cloves of garlic… I always add 4 of 5 cloves. I like to think it’s one of my best qualities.

About two years ago I had so many requests to make this dip that I had to take a year off from making it. Yes, it’s possible to get sick of a cheesy, delicious dip. It just takes you months of making it over and over again to get you to that point. Apologies for the dark photo – it was Christmas Eve and I sneaked picture as it was sitting on the appetizer table!

ArtichokeDip3

Cheesy Spinach & Artichoke Dip

Ingredients

  • 14 ounces (1 can) artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
  • 10 ounces (1 package) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (or 3/4 cup if you want extra cheesy)
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 8 ounces water chestnuts, drained and chopped
  • 3 or 4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1/4 or 1/2 teaspoon pepper flakes (add more to your liking)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Mix all of the ingredients together. Spoon into a 9-inch square or pie dish.
    ArtichokeDip1ArtichokeDip2
  3. Bake for 20 minutes, or until heated through and golden.
  4. Serve with pita chips, crackers or fresh veggies.

One response to “Cheesy Spinach & Artichoke Dip

  1. Pingback: Broccoli Chicken Mac & Cheese | fancy fork·

Leave a comment