White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies

I know that white chocolate chip cookies tend to be on the sweeter side, but they’re just so delicious! They’re usually accompanied by their BFF macadamia nuts, but I didn’t feel like splurging $5 for a tiny bag of them. Honestly – do macadamia nuts ever go on sale? *sigh*

Because I made these for my cookie exchange at work, I doubled this recipe (you’ll get approx. 2.5 dozen per batch). I’m happy to report that this is an excellent “large quantity” recipe – the ingredients are pretty standard and if you make two batches, you won’t be left with any extra chips or cranberries because you’ll use the whole bag for each.

Baking Tip: How to Bake Perfectly Round Cookies

While making this recipe, I wanted to be sure I had enough cookies for my exchange at work. So I rolled up all the cookie dough before I put any in the oven. I then placed the balls of dough on the baking sheet (3 wide, 6 down) and 9 minutes later out came perfectly round cookies!

I hope you love these as much as I did! They’re festive for the holidays, perfect for Valentine’s Day and ideal for a summer BBQ dessert. Enjoy!

WhiteCranberryCookies1

White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies

Adapted from SallysBakingAddiction.com

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cups white chocolate chips
  • 5 ounces dried cranberries (I used Ocean Spray’s Craisins)

Directions:

  1. Line an ungreased cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl using a hand-held mixer or stand mixer, cream the butter and sugars together on medium speed until fluffy and light in color.
  3. Mix in egg and vanilla.  Scrape down the sides as needed.
  4. Combine the dry ingredients – flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Spoon into wet mixture until combined.
  5. Stir in white chocolate chips & dried cranberries. Chill dough (covered) for 30 minutes or up to 3 days.
  6. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  7. Roll balls of dough (1 or 1.5 tablespoons each) and pile onto a dinner plate for easy baking. Place onto lined cookie sheet.
    WhiteCranberryCookies2
  8. Bake for 8-9 minutes, until barely golden brown around the edges.  Do NOT cook them longer than 9 minutes.
  9. Remove and let cool for 5-10 minutes on the cookie sheet.  Transfer to cooling rack.
    WhiteCranberryCookies3

One response to “White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies

Leave a comment